Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags
A jam submission

Fruit ThievesView game page

Defend your garden against fruit thieves
Submitted by egordorichev โ€” 1 day, 12 hours before the deadline
Add to collection

Play game

Fruit Thieves's itch.io page

Results

CriteriaRankScore*Raw Score
Fun#273.4673.467
Sound#273.2673.267
Visuals#343.8333.833
Music#353.3673.367
Theme#573.1673.167
Story#742.3002.300

Ranked from 30 ratings. Score is adjusted from raw score by the median number of ratings per game in the jam.

Team Members
Only I

Leave a comment

Log in with itch.io to leave a comment.

Comments

Submitted(+1)

Love the tension between clicking to create ammo and clicking to actually build stuff! The clicker mechanic is in itself very frustrating though...

Also, I didn't find a way to trigger bombs, they never exploded.

Great submission by the way :)

Developer

Thanks :) The bomb towers work them-self, they just need some enemies in range. They throw bombs, but they are pretty tiny, so that's why you might not see them.

Submitted(+1)

Mmm my battlefield was full of tiny bombs that never exploded... Maybe it was a one-time bug :)

Developer

Ah, thanks for the bug report! Fixed now ;D 

Submitted(+1)

Not found of tower defenses but love the art. Makes me wanna try Pico8.

Submitted(+1)

Nice :) tower defense games... my only weakness!!!

Submitted(+1)

Really liked it from start to finish, the tower defence was pretty solid, but the clicker game aspect I feel didn't really add value and I would've enjoyed it more without its inclusion. Everything else though was on point.

Submitted(+1)

Good Job Guys, I really love pico8 games, the first polished game there :D
Great work o/

Developer

Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

Submitted(+1)

Cool to see another pico8 submission :P This is definitely one of the most polished submissions!
Can't really say anything bad about it, just a little stressful for a genre thats usually more relaxed. Now I kind of want to make a tower defense game too :D

Developer

Haha, good luck ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also enjoyed your game, tho, I would give a tiny tip for better outlines (well, they look better to me):

function ospr(s, x, y)

 all_black()

 for xx=-1,1 do for yy=-1,1 do if (abs(xx)+abs(yy)==1) spr(s,x,y)

 end end

 pal()

 spr(s,x,y)

end

I hope this helps ;)

Submitted(+1)

Thank you! And oh man, I feel really stupid now... I did all the outlines per hand on the sprites xD

Developer

Hehe, I did that too, to be true. They just look like in-code ones. Sprite ones save us some CPU ๐Ÿ˜‰ This game runs on 60 fps, for example.

Submitted(+1)

Loved it! The art is amazing, and I didn't even know you could make such complex game sin PICO8! The only bad things I can say is that the wave with armored enemies is such a difficulty spike, never manage to beat it, and the clicking doesn't seem to add any interesting gameplay (also the clicking button right next to the reset >.<).

The art is so beautifully pixelly and so cohesive and complete.

Developer

Thanks for the feedback ๐Ÿ™‚ About the armored enemies: you meed, police looking like? I'm still trying to balance the game, so I'm open to any feedback. The clicking mechanic makes it harder for you to keep track of your game ๐Ÿ˜‰

Submitted(+1)

Nice. I like the graphics work and design, and also the music. Intense clicking isn't exactly my kind of game, but I should recognize that was pretty good

Host(+1)

Great work.

Developer

Thanks :D

Submitted(+1)

I love this! I must have played it like 10 times - It has the right amount of difficulty and it fits the theme so well, giving a nice fresh idea to the classic tower defense genre

Developer

Thanks for playing ๐Ÿ™‚ I'm glad, that you like it ๐Ÿ˜‰

Submitted(+2)

Really cool game :D

The only downside is that my hand gets cramped after a couple minutes :D

Developer

Hehe, that's a clicker ;) Don't even try to play with a touchpad ๐Ÿ˜›

Developer

UPD : gruber made music for this today: https://twitter.com/gruber_music

Submitted

This is re-using existing assets from your other game, Super Loot Bros. The rules for the jam say you should make your assets during the jam.

Developer(+1)

I did not reuse. They just look the same way. Are you talking about the tiles? That's such a simple thing, can be done in 1 minute. Chars are totally not the same. Something else? 

Submitted(+3)

Colourful