Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
nobody
  • 6.8k
  • 3
  • 32
  • 41
Became Hot Network Question
added 198 characters in body
Source Link

My gas water heater is very old, and I'd like to replace it with a heat pump electric water heater. The one I'm looking at is 19 amps, 240 volts. My breaker box is in a finished part of my basement, and it would be difficult to run a new circuit to the unfinished part of the basement, to where the water heater will be.

My oven circuit runs almost to the unfinished part, and the end that goes up to the oven is easily accessible, so I'd like to use that wiring to have a subpanel installed, then feed the oven and water heater from there. The oven breaker is 50 amps, and the wiring is also for 50 amps, and has 3 wires plus ground.

Would it be to code to power both of those through the subpanel? At some point in the next few years, I'm likely to get an EV, could a 30 or 40 amp car charger also be added to that subpanel?

My house is in the US (Michigan), and was built in the late 1990s, and I have a 150 amp main breaker. An online load calculator says with the water heater and car charger, I'm only at 137 amps, so I think I'm fine for the total house load.

Edit: I'm not concerned about tripping the breaker, we'll be able to set times for heating/charging to not draw too much current at once. I'm concerned about whether doing this will be to code.

My gas water heater is very old, and I'd like to replace it with a heat pump electric water heater. The one I'm looking at is 19 amps, 240 volts. My breaker box is in a finished part of my basement, and it would be difficult to run a new circuit to the unfinished part of the basement, to where the water heater will be.

My oven circuit runs almost to the unfinished part, and the end that goes up to the oven is easily accessible, so I'd like to use that wiring to have a subpanel installed, then feed the oven and water heater from there. The oven breaker is 50 amps, and the wiring is also for 50 amps, and has 3 wires plus ground.

Would it be to code to power both of those through the subpanel? At some point in the next few years, I'm likely to get an EV, could a 30 or 40 amp car charger also be added to that subpanel?

My house is in the US (Michigan), and was built in the late 1990s, and I have a 150 amp main breaker. An online load calculator says with the water heater and car charger, I'm only at 137 amps, so I think I'm fine for the total house load.

My gas water heater is very old, and I'd like to replace it with a heat pump electric water heater. The one I'm looking at is 19 amps, 240 volts. My breaker box is in a finished part of my basement, and it would be difficult to run a new circuit to the unfinished part of the basement, to where the water heater will be.

My oven circuit runs almost to the unfinished part, and the end that goes up to the oven is easily accessible, so I'd like to use that wiring to have a subpanel installed, then feed the oven and water heater from there. The oven breaker is 50 amps, and the wiring is also for 50 amps, and has 3 wires plus ground.

Would it be to code to power both of those through the subpanel? At some point in the next few years, I'm likely to get an EV, could a 30 or 40 amp car charger also be added to that subpanel?

My house is in the US (Michigan), and was built in the late 1990s, and I have a 150 amp main breaker. An online load calculator says with the water heater and car charger, I'm only at 137 amps, so I think I'm fine for the total house load.

Edit: I'm not concerned about tripping the breaker, we'll be able to set times for heating/charging to not draw too much current at once. I'm concerned about whether doing this will be to code.

"Sub" is a prefix, not a word
Source Link
isherwood
  • 142.6k
  • 8
  • 174
  • 424

Can I convert 50 amp electric oven circuit to sub panelsubpanel, and power oven plus water heater, plus maybe a car charger?

My gas water heater is very old, and I'd like to replace it with a heat pump electric water heater. The one I'm looking at is 19 amps, 240 volts. My breaker box is in a finished part of my basement, and it would be difficult to run a new circuit to the unfinished part of the basement, to where the water heater will be.

My oven circuit runs almost to the unfinished part, and the end that goes up to the oven is easily accessible, so I'd like to use that wiring to have a sub panelsubpanel installed, then feed the oven and water heater from there. The oven breaker is 50 amps, and the wiring is also for 50 amps, and has 3 wires plus ground.

Would it be to code to power both of those through the sub panelsubpanel? At some point in the next few years, I'm likely to get an EV, could a 30 or 40 amp car charger also be added to that sub panelsubpanel?

My house is in the US (Michigan), and was built in the late 1990's1990s, and I have a 150 amp main breaker. An online load calculator says with the water heater and car charger, I'm only at 137 amps, so I think I'm fine for the total house load.

Can I convert 50 amp electric oven circuit to sub panel, and power oven plus water heater, plus maybe a car charger?

My gas water heater is very old, and I'd like to replace it with a heat pump electric water heater. The one I'm looking at is 19 amps, 240 volts. My breaker box is in a finished part of my basement, and it would be difficult to run a new circuit to the unfinished part of the basement, to where the water heater will be.

My oven circuit runs almost to the unfinished part, and the end that goes up to the oven is easily accessible, so I'd like to use that wiring to have a sub panel installed, then feed the oven and water heater from there. The oven breaker is 50 amps, and the wiring is also for 50 amps, and has 3 wires plus ground.

Would it be to code to power both of those through the sub panel? At some point in the next few years, I'm likely to get an EV, could a 30 or 40 amp car charger also be added to that sub panel?

My house is in the US (Michigan), and was built in the late 1990's, and I have a 150 amp main breaker. An online load calculator says with the water heater and car charger, I'm only at 137 amps, so I think I'm fine for the total house load.

Can I convert 50 amp electric oven circuit to subpanel, and power oven plus water heater, plus maybe a car charger?

My gas water heater is very old, and I'd like to replace it with a heat pump electric water heater. The one I'm looking at is 19 amps, 240 volts. My breaker box is in a finished part of my basement, and it would be difficult to run a new circuit to the unfinished part of the basement, to where the water heater will be.

My oven circuit runs almost to the unfinished part, and the end that goes up to the oven is easily accessible, so I'd like to use that wiring to have a subpanel installed, then feed the oven and water heater from there. The oven breaker is 50 amps, and the wiring is also for 50 amps, and has 3 wires plus ground.

Would it be to code to power both of those through the subpanel? At some point in the next few years, I'm likely to get an EV, could a 30 or 40 amp car charger also be added to that subpanel?

My house is in the US (Michigan), and was built in the late 1990s, and I have a 150 amp main breaker. An online load calculator says with the water heater and car charger, I'm only at 137 amps, so I think I'm fine for the total house load.

Source Link
Loading