Skip to main content

Timeline for Strange Interaction with Professor

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 3 at 13:28 comment added Trunk I must add that a genuine interest in a topic, i.e. provable ability to discuss the present state of the art or show some aspects of it studied yourself, can weigh in favor of a PhD candidate too.
Jul 3 at 13:22 comment added Trunk Your GPA is quite respectable and in UK/IRL would get you on a PhD program in many fields though not in a top-rank school without additional evidence of research potential, e.g. a good Master's degree over 2 years. Sometimes however, even top-rank grad schools have so many funded programs (as a result of their reputation maybe) that they have to hire PhDs fast and will drop the GPA a bit. In your situation, I'd advise trying to register for an MS (or MPhil as they say here) and depending on progress in 1.5 years switch over to a PhD. This is available by many grad schools here, maybe in US too
Jul 3 at 13:09 comment added rainbowschubert I graduated in 2022 and have been working a job that’s unrelated to my future career ambitions. I’m doing unpaid work for him because otherwise I have no research experience and thus no good recommendation letters. I currently cannot find any paid RA positions that will take me. My undergrad GPA is 3.4, which is likely lower than the average for prospective schools.
Jul 3 at 12:53 history answered Trunk CC BY-SA 4.0