tantek.com

↳ In reply to

issue 242 of GitHub project “standards-positions”


I like the direction of simplifying our positions labels, and some degree of harmonizing for better communication.

Rephrased from what I shared in some private discussions earlier this week:

I think "support" may inadvertently convey a stronger meaning than what we intend a lot of the time. Similarly "oppose".

One thing that other browsers explicitly look for are "positive signals" or absence of "negative signals", so I think it may be better to directly use such terms, e.g.

"positive", "neutral", "negative"

More:

In my opinion this also reads better for evaluations of proposals which in their current state have more disadvantages than advantages, we can mark them "negative" without completely discouraging someone with "oppose" which sounds more like something we’d actively fight.

Similarly, a lot of the time we don’t want to say "Mozilla supports X" if we think something has promise but has lots of holes to fill in or other problems. Such an expression may have the unintended consequence of discouraging (or deprioritizing) active work on the issues we file for such holes/problems. Also "support" is an overloaded term, that I’d expect broader audiences to possibly misinterpret as indicative of product plans.

I believe "positive, neutral, negative" will more accurately convey what we mean than current labels, with less chance of misinterpretation (whether intentional or not) than the alternatives.

on (ttk.me t5LW1) using BBEdit